Keep an eye on this thread for more clues. ↓ pic.twitter.com/uaMVzn4wgp — Google Developers (@googledevs) March 16, 2022 Typically, Google I/O takes place the second week of May in Mountain View, California, at the Shoreline Amphitheater – which is right next to the Googleplex. Though last year, it was still virtual, and the year before it was cancelled altogether, with an Android event later on in the summer. We’d expect a same time-frame this year, but it’s still unclear whether this will be virtual or in-person this year. Many things are starting to open up again, but Google may not be ready to do an in-person I/O just yet.

What to expect at Google I/O this year?

So what can we expect at Google I/O 2022? Well, we will of course see the first beta for Android 13 launch at I/O. As we have the past few years. Google has already launched the first developer preview (and we’ll get a second one before I/O). But there weren’t really any new features included there. The big new features are saved for Google I/O, when Google can get on stage and talk about it. We should also expect updates to Chrome, among other products that Google has. Recently, Google announced Steam was coming to Chromebooks this year, so we’ll likely get more information on that, and possibly an early preview of it too. Google I/O is usually more developer focused, so don’t expect any new hardware. Though it is possible that we could get the Pixel 6a there. As the Pixel 3a was announced at I/O.